11
Aug
08

Extreme Rendition

The movie had me in a knot from the very beginning. It was a movie I had postponed watching for many reasons…most because I knew my initial reaction would be just that, have me in knots.

The fact that I saw “a body” so familiar in this movie was enough to make me sick to my stomach. To know how easy these things come to pass, even more so. I should know…I still have that distasteful feeling in mouth every time I remember one person could have ruined my whole existence… Not necessarily in this dramatic fashion; but with similar connotations.

Why do people harm others based on suspicion? Based on supposed suspicion? Like the honor killings in Jordan where young women are killed by their fathers; brothers; cousins based on suspicion, never four people eyewitness proof as the Qur’an and Hadith command. Even as the Sharia is obligated to follow but no one bows to because it is easier to wipe the slate clean than admit a mistake has been made.

Its movies like these that open the flood waters of anger; resentment; and helpless frustration that I feel in similar but unrelated issues. The girl killed by her younger brother for a whispered, maybe malicious rumor. The man jailed for crossing into an area he was unaware was being monitored but makes him now a culpable man by accidental association. The detainee who confesses to anything so long as he or she receives relief from torture -even if it means death.

And those same flood waters bring the frustration of having loved ones far away for the very same reasons.

My life so full of life and death is also full of those in-between stages that suffer more my heart than even death can; because death brings finality…these don’t.

God why did I watch this movie today? Alhamdulillah it was so written for a reason, let me just sit in these murky waters until they settle and the reason will become self apparent.

0 Responses to “Extreme Rendition”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None

On the Go Constantly

  • @Achelois06 Confused my dear? about what in particular, or ust in general? 7 years ago
  • A day of sunshine of meditation and thought... 7 years ago
  • Snow in NY, its a day of home office work! Better than commuting! 7 years ago
  • first day back at work since May and tired already! And this is only for a few hours! oy! Will i ever get my groove back?! 7 years ago
  • happy mother's day a tad late in the day- but with all of the wishes 8 years ago

RSS http://alphainventions.com/feed.xml

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
August 2008
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The Writing Trunk

Alpha Inventions Ranking

