01
May
09

Obligation

The Mulla nearly fell into a pool. A man whom he knew slightly was near and saved him. Every time he met Nasrudin after that, he would remind him of the service which he had performed.

When this had happened, several times Nasrudin took him to the water, jumped in, and stood with his head just above water and shouted: “Now I am as wet as I would have been if you had not saved me! Leave me alone.”

5 Responses to “Obligation”


  1. May 1, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Salaams INAL!

    I love these lessons/fables!

    Also, I don’t know if you saw it, but your post is up on islamonmyside.com. Tell your friends. 🙂 And thank you for letting us repost. If you have anything in your archives or want to write something you feel reflects the theme of the site, please let me know. Also, I’m having some issues changing the text on the header, but we’re open to experiences living life as Muslim all over the world, not just in the US post 9/11. 🙂

    • 2 INAL
      May 1, 2009 at 9:38 am

      Hi Shawna- Yes Islamonmyside asked if they could re-print the post…nice of them; like all of you who have done so.

      And yes those fables are the best…that is the thing I don’t understand about teaching kids nowadays- fables are a great way of getting the point across- or am I dating myself here.

      And Nasrudin is a Master at what he does…wake’s up up to certain things!

    • 3 INAL
      May 1, 2009 at 5:54 pm

      Look at the articles I have written like Houchie Mamma; Someone Else… I write about what I have seen; sometimes who I am or what I perceive others to be… pick what you like and let me know…

  2. 4 fatima ahmed farouta
    May 1, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Go Nasrudin!

  3. 5 INAL
    May 1, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Nasrudin reminds me of what I see that happens a lot in the ME- one little favor and you owe that person almost your life- they think then to take over and tell you what to do, when and how…and sometimes you wish you could do exactly like Nasrudin and tell them enough!


Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None

On the Go Constantly

  • @Achelois06 Confused my dear? about what in particular, or ust in general? 7 years ago
  • A day of sunshine of meditation and thought... 7 years ago
  • Snow in NY, its a day of home office work! Better than commuting! 7 years ago
  • first day back at work since May and tired already! And this is only for a few hours! oy! Will i ever get my groove back?! 8 years ago
  • happy mother's day a tad late in the day- but with all of the wishes 8 years ago

RSS http://alphainventions.com/feed.xml

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The Writing Trunk

Alpha Inventions Ranking

