04
May
09

Mindfulness…

 

Life, lately, has not been ideal: many worries, a lot of “life” wrinkles (that iron is perpetually on it seems), and lot of angst to go with it all. Life happens is all; goodness you get so caught up in so many mental conversations, “script writing” as I heard it referred to once, where you are everywhere among the tree limbs like a monkey but not on the ground walking upright and sedately like a human being. The more you go bouncing, grabbing, propelling yourself towards the next elusive limb, the more “the monkey” you get and still nothing done right.

 

You pray harder, may even obsess a little more on being on time. Then you obsess on the next prayer than on the one you are praying. You say to yourself “next time I will…” and the next time comes and goes quite a few times before you realize you are still not being whatever it was you said you would be. It could be that pile of work on your desk that you hammer at all day and never seems to go down as call, visitor, meeting, and conference of God only knows what keeps you from getting to the bottom. Your goals, your intentions they all seem to be hanging fruit you are suddenly too tiny to reach.

 

When that happens I reach into Sufism and Buddhism to find options to keep me on the path my Faith demands of me- to some that sounds contradictory, yet in reality it is not. I know a whole host of things that Muslims will tell me to “get me back on track” but those are not as effective in getting me there, as they would hope in my case.

 

Zen Habits recently published an article that as I read it I was reminded how “monkey-busy” I am that sometimes I get absolutely nothing accomplished (which is my point exactly, hence the angst). It reminded me when I do practice “Mindfulness” I get a lot more done the first time, in the right way, and I am left with a lot more quality time for those who are important in my life.

 

Therefore, here are the captions, hoping they interest you enough to want to go read the whole article and try it out. See what happens in your life, with your prayers, with your goals, and intentions.

 

How to Be Mindful

1. Do one thing at a time.

2. Do it slowly and deliberately.

3. Do less.

4. Put space between things.

5. Spend at least 5 minutes each day doing nothing.

6. Stop worrying about the future – focus on the present.

7. When you’re talking to someone, be present.

8. Eat slowly and savor your food.

9. Live slowly and savor your life.

10. Make cleaning and cooking become meditation.

11. Keep practicing.

The Mulla Nasrudin would probably agree…

6 Responses to “Mindfulness…”


  1. May 5, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    I need that lesson! I am so impatient. I really need to focus. Thanks for this INAL!

    • 2 INAL
      May 5, 2009 at 2:09 pm

      Your welcome! Don’t we all? I know I can have bucketfuls and in an instant- poof!!! And that’s where I start going off on limbs best left for another time and place!

  2. 3 Chiara
    May 6, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    Ever tried Mindfulness Meditation? All the fashionable cognitive-behavioural psychiatrists are doing it this season! 😛 Seriously, it is a very helpful form of anxiety, and stress management. A number of colleagues have sought it for themselves and then added it to their therapeutic recommendations.

    Mindless in the Great Warming up North LOL 😀

  3. 4 INAL
    May 6, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    LOL…

    Actually, I do what is called Walking Meditation, when my migraines hit and I can’t relieve them with meds; Its to be done in a way where you take the longest time possible to get across a room by taking each step in a manner that you are aware of every part of your foot as it goes up and rolls to go down again, and repeated with each small stride. the aim is to do this as many times as possible taking progressively longer to do it… The first time I tried it I was able to handle the pain and slept like a baby- mind you it took me about 1 hour and about 300 steps to get me across my bedroom each way…

    But then Mindless North never did care much for the cold, until the saw “Day after Tomorrow”- then it was cool to be a weatherman! Person, for the gender sensitive… :))

    • 5 Chiara
      May 8, 2009 at 5:51 pm

      LOL I most often slip up and call it “Mindlessness Meditation” even though I think it is a bona fide technique–must try Walking Meditation the next time I have a migraine. Like tonight given that my original plans have been foiled–aiming to spend 3 hours–the time I would have spent on my original plans! LOL 😀

  4. 6 INAL
    May 8, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Oops! But remember- can’t do anything else but walk- or else you start thinking and there goes the meditation part… 🙂

    3 hours! Oy! I hate when that happens! That’s a good chunk of time gone to pot,,,


Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None

On the Go Constantly

  • @Achelois06 Confused my dear? about what in particular, or ust in general? 7 years ago
  • A day of sunshine of meditation and thought... 7 years ago
  • Snow in NY, its a day of home office work! Better than commuting! 7 years ago
  • first day back at work since May and tired already! And this is only for a few hours! oy! Will i ever get my groove back?! 8 years ago
  • happy mother's day a tad late in the day- but with all of the wishes 8 years ago

RSS http://alphainventions.com/feed.xml

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The Writing Trunk

Alpha Inventions Ranking

