14
Mar
10

Listen, listen, listen…

A while back my husband had made a trip to Yemen. Every night I would call him using those very economical phone cards. They may be economical, but calling Yemen sometimes is a hit or miss ordeal. In this case, the phones were behaving, and I got through without a hitch. My husband was in his usual midnight insomnia mode, so he was relaxing as best he could hearing music.

We talked and laughed over the day’s occurrences, here and in Yemen. I had an early day the next day, so we kept the conversation to a half hour. My husband and I, Alhamdulillah, can talk for hours and hours. We always have something to say to each other…its never ending.

I hang up.

A about an hour later as I am getting comfortable and ready to cross over to the other blissful side, the phone rings. It’s my husband.

“Listen, listen, listen…”

I hear him click what sounded like the old tape player we have in our bedroom back home. I wait for the music to play.

On the other end comes this very drunk like sounding Najwa Karam singing, “Ismak bi Sharifni“. I could almost see the tape winding in uncoordinated whirl. I start laughing uncontrollably!

“Kiiiiffff??” My husband’s astonished voice questions the uncooperative player, with a string of Yemeni highland curses!

“Ya rohi! Leave Najwa for another time, I think she’s had enough for today…” Laughingly we both said good bye again.

I settle back into bed and pull the covers.

The phone rings again.

“Listen, listen, listen…”

I sighed with a smile. Najwa Karam was going to sing me “Ismak bi Sharifni“, if it killed her that night!

3 Responses to “Listen, listen, listen…”


  1. March 14, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Aww. This is so cute. Very sweet.

    Left me smiling deliriously 🙂

    • 3 INAL
      March 14, 2010 at 5:42 pm

      One of his endearing qualities that keep me enthralled! At home he is by turns a clown and a prankster with some interesting silences- they make you feel like he’s actually having a conversation without speaking- an enveloping warm feeling I guess.


Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None

On the Go Constantly

  • @Achelois06 Confused my dear? about what in particular, or ust in general? 7 years ago
  • A day of sunshine of meditation and thought... 7 years ago
  • Snow in NY, its a day of home office work! Better than commuting! 7 years ago
  • first day back at work since May and tired already! And this is only for a few hours! oy! Will i ever get my groove back?! 8 years ago
  • happy mother's day a tad late in the day- but with all of the wishes 8 years ago

RSS http://alphainventions.com/feed.xml

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

The Writing Trunk

Alpha Inventions Ranking

