24
Mar
10

throwback…

The good stuff. Cane Sugar. Recently we watched the show ‘the Doctors’ where the topic of conversation was cane sugar versus high-fructose corn syrup. The doctors were discussing the probability of plain sugar being better for you than the now ever present corn fructose substitute we find in just about everything. They proposed HFCS would actually make you crave more of it, making you fatter in the process. Well with most Americans being about 33% heavier than the rest of the world’s population, it does give you pause.

The book, ‘Omnivore’s Dilemma’ states that drinking, and eating products with HFCS is like ‘sipping petroleum’! If it could make chicks and calves triple their weight in half the time, then something was up. All those commercials assuring us this sweetener being equally good as plain sugar were now ringing untrue to my ears. It gave me enough reason to take a look at our food at home especially the juices and sodas, as well as those zero calorie sweeteners. I calculated, in about five month’s time, eating the same diet but using ‘Splenda’, I had actually gained way too many pounds. Oh, the exercise was not at the same level, but the extra pounds could not all be from it. So on a hunch I stopped the ‘Splenda’ and reverted to plain sugar while keeping everything else equal.

My research assistant then recently brought me a ‘Throwback Pepsi’ which contains natural sugar. She asked me what was the difference from the ‘regular’ Pepsi. ‘Well that one’ pointing to her Pepsi, ‘has HFCS.’ She didn’t believe me, yet sure enough there it was on the label. That got her thinking. Today she comes into my office smiling with a ‘Eureka’! She had come across an article from the journal of Pharmacology, Biochemistry and Behavior. The title? ‘High-fructose corn syrup causes characteristics of obesity in rats: Increased body weight, body fat and triglyceride levels,’ published february 12, 2010 by Bocarsly, Powell, Avena, and Hoebel.

Me, I felt kind of vindicated! Because the change back to sugar had shown some results, I was losing weight, I didn’t crave sweets and my body was better processing my food- less fat deposits. Like when I travel over-seas. I tend to eat more, in smaller portions, drink much more water, and only sweeten my tea with regular cane or brown sugar. I always come back a good ten pounds lighter. And this is especially true with trips to Spain and Yemen, locations which obviously have different diets.

Take a look at the article, and if you get a chance read the ‘Omnivore’s Dilemma’, you’ll really never look at your food the same way.

I feel lighter already!

0 Responses to “throwback…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None

On the Go Constantly

  • @Achelois06 Confused my dear? about what in particular, or ust in general? 7 years ago
  • A day of sunshine of meditation and thought... 7 years ago
  • Snow in NY, its a day of home office work! Better than commuting! 7 years ago
  • first day back at work since May and tired already! And this is only for a few hours! oy! Will i ever get my groove back?! 7 years ago
  • happy mother's day a tad late in the day- but with all of the wishes 8 years ago

RSS http://alphainventions.com/feed.xml

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

The Writing Trunk

Alpha Inventions Ranking

