18
May
10

work…

In the past few weeks, or maybe even months, at work, there was an intensity that I was hard pressed to define properly, or even find a source for.

Well the news is out (and I’m not surprised); our Corporation is going to do major overhaul. And I mean MAJOR! In the midst of this impacting news- lost jobs, redesign of jobs for those who stay (or are left behind), new labor and affiliate contracts; a few of us have been charged with being the ones to map out the path that will put us smack into the middle of the storm.

Even as I prepare to go on an extended leave, I have been charged with being part of the project’s Steering Committee to create a full and robust, evidence-based, patient centered Care Management program for the major hospital not only of the network I work for, but also the largest of the hospitals in the corporation.

My husband’s look when I broke the news spoke volumes…”You’ll be on overdrive right up until we leave!” Yep! Sure will. And honestly it scares me a bit. Not because I don’t think I can do it. Its what I do to myself when I’m handed a loaded package like this one. I’m, I must admit, an OCD workaholic. I truly forget to sleep and I seem to thrive on walking- running actually on that ‘edge’. That means here come the migraines that are my flags of stress.

So what am I to do? I’ve recruited the teams, I’ve sat with my research assistant and done the homework. We speak Care Management fluently now. We’ve just finished a two and a half day value stream and gap analysis for the financial end (health reforms won’t make things any easier); and are about to do the vertical value stream for the whole Care Management program… The very tip of the iceberg!

Oy Vey! I can forecast a very intense month. Already my office is full of clinical, diagnostic, and administrative guidelines, protocols, pathways, policies and data enough to launch a shuttle! NASA would be proud!

My husband? He just bought the biggest packages he could find of Linden, Chamomille, and Olive Vinegar teas. They will be my life-line when I get home at night. And because I am a night owl, I will NOT start my work day until 10 am. I come alive after noon time. So my folks at home will probably not see or hear from me any time before 8:00 pm! I did promise hubby I would stick to at least 8 hours of sleep. The only thing I can’t promise is the total length of work hours. (My doctors are threatening to write me up if I don’t stick to the plan!) Yes, some of my staff have already volunteered to rotate their tours to be in the office later. They’re the best! I tell them all the time!

What probably ‘saves’ us in a sense is the climate. The season is turning so the sun goes down much later- giving us at least four more hours of daylight. One leg up!

So here we go… T -minus…

2 Responses to “work…”


  1. May 19, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Oh, good luck Inal. I hope you enjoy the work and the tea 🙂

    But please do keep blogging and updating me, us, everyone. I love you so much!

    • 2 INAL
      May 19, 2010 at 10:11 am

      Definitely Suroor! I will continue to blog; its just a matter of fitting everything in proper sequence so I can do as much as I can.

      And the teas are a life saver!


Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None

On the Go Constantly

  • @Achelois06 Confused my dear? about what in particular, or ust in general? 7 years ago
  • A day of sunshine of meditation and thought... 7 years ago
  • Snow in NY, its a day of home office work! Better than commuting! 7 years ago
  • first day back at work since May and tired already! And this is only for a few hours! oy! Will i ever get my groove back?! 7 years ago
  • happy mother's day a tad late in the day- but with all of the wishes 8 years ago

RSS http://alphainventions.com/feed.xml

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

The Writing Trunk

Alpha Inventions Ranking

