13
Jun
10

Muslim Fashionistas…

I saw this video clip about the different trends in the Muslim world when it comes to fashion. Of course I’m partial to Rabia Z, so indulge me for a moment!!! Hope you can watch it….Cover me Beautiful.

Oh, and if you haven’t clicked on the blog roll where I have some fashion sites- Caribmuslimah is a nice and creative site for us girlies in non-abaya wearing countries. And for those who are in abaya wearing areas, I have found this site very interesting…Covered in Fashion

Because all discussions about the West vs East  that start out with social interaction, ends up with the ubiquitous sexual and moral content of the West – bad and East- good. I think its time people would understand that we can’t deal with the broad strokes many like to indulge in while bashing. Hey I can bash with the rest of them, but I do like wearing hijab daily; when I must I wear abaya and hijab; when absolutely imperative I’ll wear the Abaya and Niqab… But some people would like that Muslim dress to be as tasteless and colorless (black doesn’t count as color in this case) as possible… Sorry I’m female, feminine, and Muslim among other things… My morals are not on my clothes, they’re in my mind and soul. Outward expressions of that morality is my interpretation and expression. If I have been married to a Yemeni for almost three decades; and he has not blown a casket over my fashion style – then I’m doing OK… not because he necessarily approves; but because I know who, and what I am. Comfortable in my skin, and very much aware of my age, my surroundings, and my limitations. So bring on the color! Bring on the beautiful hijabs, dresses, coats, and bling abayas (not that I would wear some of the ones I’ve seen- but hey! to each his own)! Plus all the other stuff I love to wear on a daily basis! Que Viva la Muslima Fashionista!!

0 Responses to “Muslim Fashionistas…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None

On the Go Constantly

  • @Achelois06 Confused my dear? about what in particular, or ust in general? 7 years ago
  • A day of sunshine of meditation and thought... 7 years ago
  • Snow in NY, its a day of home office work! Better than commuting! 7 years ago
  • first day back at work since May and tired already! And this is only for a few hours! oy! Will i ever get my groove back?! 8 years ago
  • happy mother's day a tad late in the day- but with all of the wishes 8 years ago

RSS http://alphainventions.com/feed.xml

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

The Writing Trunk

Alpha Inventions Ranking

