Archive for August 24th, 2008

24
Aug
08

we’ve been comparing…

In the last few days Habibi and I have been comparing relationships…ours and those that we see around us. He is visiting family at the moment, so he is kind of in a culture shock…poor thing!

His latest is about a second cousin of his who by all accounts is clueless! I’m not the one saying this, Habibi is…

Says to me “You know, he calls me in the middle of the night to ask me, no demand that I take him to the airport to get his son who is coming; -its because he is demanding that his son father a child pronto!”

I am waiting for the other shoe to drop…

“And to top it all off the son is as clueless as he is; because after I am up and showered dressed with keys in hand; the father calls me and says forget it, his son is stuck in London and doesn’t know when his flight is leaving!”

I roll my eyes; here we go again…

“What- don’t they know how to get from point A to point B!!”

I hear him getting agitated…you see he’s been Americanized and doesn’t realize it yet, so I offer “Well Habibi, you know his son is too young to be married, too young to get his act together and hasn’t had enough schooling to get it together.”

I hear Habibi sigh on the other end of the line, “I miss you, you know…you would have turned off the phone before I went to sleep; therefore avoiding this stupid situation…I would’nt have lost sleep over it.”

I smile, ah, I guess certain things are sinking in…Alhamdulillah!

24
Aug
08

Songs…when they speak to my soul

I have a thing with songs…I am extremely picky…They have to have meaning to me in particular; and usually I get to hear only the ones that beckon me…the rest I filter out.

Hope you all enjoy the songs as they appear here…each says where I am in the day, month -Life!

Enjoy…

24
Aug
08

Then…like always now

I am a “timed” by the song- but like then, is now…

What’s Going On

Mother, mother
There’s too many of you crying
Brother, brother, brother
There’s far too many of you dying
You know we’ve got to find a way
To bring some lovin’ here today – Ya

Father, father
We don’t need to escalate
You see, war is not the answer
For only love can conquer hate
You know we’ve got to find a way
To bring some lovin’ here today

Picket lines and picket signs
Don’t punish me with brutality
Talk to me, so you can see
Oh, what’s going on
What’s going on
Ya, what’s going on
Ah, what’s going on

In the mean time
Right on, baby
Right on
Right on

Father, father, everybody thinks we’re wrong
Oh, but who are they to judge us
Simply because our hair is long
Oh, you know we’ve got to find a way
To bring some understanding here today
Oh

Picket lines and picket signs
Don’t punish me with brutality
Talk to me
So you can see
What’s going on
Ya, what’s going on
Tell me what’s going on
I’ll tell you what’s going on – Uh
Right on baby
Right on baby

by: Marvin Gaye




Top Clicks

  • None

RSS http://alphainventions.com/feed.xml

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The Writing Trunk

Alpha Inventions Ranking