Archive for August 26th, 2008

26
Aug
08

An apology…

My most favorite Hijab Style site has been under attack lately by well meaning sisters, Allahu Allam, on what is correct hijab or not; even when this beautiful site explores the artistry of fashion in hijab.

It is a site that delights the eyes, the senses in its beautiful display of color and imagery; but sadly enough it can also be seen by some, and I must put myself there first, as a place to defend or attack how we use hijab.

This site is a window to what is Haute Couture in Hijab Fashion; it is not a place where those who admire the pictures should be seen as senseless women who have no clue what Haute Couture means; on the contrary it is a place where you come, you watch the fashion show; you dream and you adapt what you see into something you can wear if you so choose. The women who post there are 99.9% of the time aware that what we see doesn’t automatically translate to what we would wear.

It is a site of inspiration, a place – again I reiterate -to dream of nice colors and things.

But sadly, those who believe blindly that we are mindless boobies who see fashion and automatically go buy it; are missing the point big time. I apologize to Basbousa profusely; because I am most passionate about giving a woman due credit for her intelligence; perception; understanding and implementation of what she believes is right. I seriously and passionately don’t believe another has the right to tell a woman that her watching a butterfly does not equate to becoming a butterfly -because it is demeaning to that woman’s mentality and personality to assume she is clueless in the world and believes that watching a butterfly will turn her into one, in this case – hijab fashionista.

We are all at different stages in hijab as many sisters have pointed out- and only Allah can Judge us- so we will have to contend with His Judgement alone. I have seen more Sisters stop using hijab or leave Islam because well meaning sisters push on them their brand of veiling.

To you Basbousa, again I sincerely apologize that I have let my mouth run when I see women being attacked under the pretense that we should know better. WE DO KNOW BETTER- but we also know that Allah created color, texture, diversity and variety for a reason, a season and a lifetime- We choose to rejoice in this Creation- whether we choose to wear it or not as shown!

My sincerest apologies because I would never want a sister to stop visiting your site -and therefore changing the atmosphere so pleasantly found there. I for one will try, please do say dua’s for me, to not answer to the comments that I know will end up having me rant and rave because I so passionately believe that what you do is a good thing for us…

The world without sunshine is a dead and cold world…




Top Clicks

  • None

RSS http://alphainventions.com/feed.xml

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The Writing Trunk

Alpha Inventions Ranking